Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Director Masterclass with Almudena Carracedo

Free event for filmmakers and films students + Filmmaker Q&A

Mon 17 Sep, 2:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Lauriston Hall, Lauriston Jesuit Centre, 28 Lauriston Street , Edinburgh, EH3 9DJ
Region/Country Focus
| Free


Almudena Carracedo, one of the directors of the Berlin Audience Award and Sheffield Grand Jury Award-winning The Silence of Others, will explore different aspects of the film’s 6-year production process.


During this afternoon masterclass she will discuss the work involved in capturing both a deeply personal and a political process – from building trust with protagonists to the 14-month-long edit and the challenges of assembling such a multi-layered story, combining many characters an story arcs, from 450 hours of footage. The session will also consider character building, how to provide context without losing your audience and how to integrate the strategy, goals and tools necessary for a successful impact campaign from early in the film’s development.


Watch The Silence of Others:

SUN 16 SEPT | 20: 30 | Filmhouse, Edinburgh

MON 17 SEPT | 20:15 | GFT, Glasgow


The venue for this masterclass is:

Evolution House Boardroom (5th floor)
78 West Port


This unique event is held in partnership with the Scottish Documentary Institute and CinemaAttic and has been possible thanks to the support of Acción Cultural Española (AC/E) through the PICE’s grants programme. 

Plus Filmmaker Q&A

Book your place

Mon 17 Sep, 2:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Booking / attendance information
Free - advance registration encouraged.

Tel: 0131 553 6335 | Email organiser
"Millions are born but there is no record of them. Only those who contribute something to society, only those are born twice."
The Sari Soldiers

Presented by

- Enter Your Location -
- or -